N00B to pepakuras props: Any alternative building suggestions?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Hazzadous

Hello Everybody,

I'm a student contemporary artist who is interested in creating Pepakura projects over this summer. I want to start simple and work my way to a full body suit of Custom EOD/CQB Armour from Reach. I've been doing my research and have a collection of pdo. files and know what i want to build over the journey to my end goal.

Anyways, I appreciate the depth and sheer amount of work with every little project, but the supplies to continue after paper-crafting is where building these kind of props get quite expensive. (Being a student can be painful sometimes £££)

"Can anyone suggest any alternative materials and methods to constructing these projects without sacrificing too much integrity to what makes these props so unique?"

I'm intending to use a thin cardboard called 'gray board' for cardboard structures and some Peps with these projects to reduce warping and the need for internal fiber glassing ( well... i intended to use paper-mache for internal reinforcement as well) & EVA foam for Small detail parts and pieces that need the material.

If the thread gets responses I might add my Project Calendar as well featuring props from DOOM, PayDay2, Hotline Miami, Star Wars and etc...

Last edited by a moderator:
Well Cardboard is great to work with after all. Here is my MK VI helm just made from cardboard from a foam template.

So you don't want to use Resin and fiberglass or body filler? Here's my advice. you can use paper mache or paper mache pulp method.

I'm not an expert but you should keep researching for things that can be alternative if your on a tight budget. So Peace!

And good luck on that helmet.

.....War, War never changes...

Attachments

• IMG_1109.JPG
    IMG_1109.JPG
    2.2 MB · Views: 210
  • IMG_1108.JPG
    IMG_1108.JPG
    2 MB · Views: 221
  • IMG_1107.JPG
    IMG_1107.JPG
    2 MB · Views: 214
  • IMG_1110.JPG