Need Help Wiring Some LEDs Inside a Prop Pistol

Status
Not open for further replies.
I know outrageous huh!? :p

But its the only weapon I'm going to make for now! I have a basic sketch drawn, so take a look...

Picture011.jpg

I don't even know if this is going to work. I have no knowledge in electronics lol!
Can someone help me out!? :$

Comment on what you think is right or wrong, or just in general, Thanks for reading!

I've got a great link to a circuit designer that will calculate the required resistors based on what sort of LED's and power source you have. As soon as I get home from work, I'll post the link here.

Edit: HA! Don't have to wait till I get home, here it is...

http://led.linear1.org/led.wiz

So, based on what you've got, I think your design will work, but it's overkill on the resistors.

It's kind of hard to tell what exactly you're trying to do. Have you tried making a really simple drawing of it in paint? Are the two LED's Different sizes/Desired Brightnesses? If they are the same size, they should have the same Resistors for the same Brightnesses. Just trying to help.

Edit: Something like this?

haloLED.jpg

I've got a great link to a circuit designer that will calculate the required resistors based on what sort of LED's and power source you have. As soon as I get home from work, I'll post the link here.

i googled "Ohm scale" or something and got linked to this "electric guru" thing and i just guessed on all of it..
12V power
5.95V drop
@ 20 mA
with 3 LEDS

and i used common sense to finish the rest, lol! But i still need it to be "approved" i guess, before i buy the LEDS and resistors..

m6g-gun-wires.jpg

Electrical engineer here. I can tell you now that a 5.6ohm resister will blow out your poor yellow leds. I'll do a sketch and post back.