New to costume building, need help

Status
Not open for further replies.

CliffySilver66

I have had a little look through the forums but feel as if I should ask about things that could help, such as what materials are best for lasting armour, how much these things usually cost, what equipment is needed, ect.

If you check out under tutorials and then tutorial index you will see a detailed list on different guides that will help you along.

If you're looking for long lasting armor, pep is the strongest but takes the longest, it is also more expensive if you do the whole suit pep because of fiberglass and Bondo costs more. Also it will take you a lot longer to do this method.

Foam is good for getting a suit done quicker but I'd a bit more fragile because it's foam but you can reinforce them a bit. This is why I made my helmet with pep but armor is foam

3d printing I have no experience in so I can't give you any info there.

I'd second pep being the strongest/most durable but it also depends on how you treat the stuff.

I can yeet a foam helmet across a room and know it'll be fine. Pepakura if treated well will outlive you. 3D prints if made from the right material can be extremely strong but it's often a stepping stone to moulding and casting objects which is generally a more durable/easily replaceable alternative.