Noob here: Gears of War 3 armor progress

Status
Not open for further replies.

Darth Hammer

Hey everyone,

Stumbled upon this site a few months back and decided to build a Gears of War 3 COG costume. I am kinda finished and I spent about 3 weekends on it. It is Gears inspired. It is not cannon and it is a mix of all of the characters armor, so it isn't really any one characters armor, although it has turned into a bit of a Carmine build.

I mainly did it for fun, just to see if I could pull it off. Could it be better, yes! But for $100 and 20 hours I think it looks pretty cool. My son (he's 13) is excited to wear it for Halloween.

Here is a teaser:

6278246318_5ef26ea7c4_z.jpg

It's all made out of foam and the templates were hand drawn and cut by myself. No downloaded patterns or anything. Then painted and weathered. I also did 2 Nerf guns to go with it. I will try and post a build thread in the 'Creation' forum if I can access it, with more detailed photos and info..

There are a lot of GREAT artists on here and by no means is this a pro costume. Just some fun I had in the garage.

Hope you enjoy!

Judging from the pics you have for us it looks like an EPIC build. show me more Plz.

Last edited by a moderator:
from what I am seeing, this is gonna be one sweet looking costume. Are you going for a specific COG armor or are you making this all custom?

No specific COG, just inspired by Gears. This is my first attempt at anything like this. I know I could make it way better but all it takes is time and money. I was trying to slam this out for Halloween. Here is close up of the COG logo on the front of the chest. This photo is unfiltered so you can see the weathering detail better.

6278522984_0122296455_z.jpg

STAGE 1