Noob wants to build ODST foam armor (needs help)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shotgunslayer

Hi all, I'm pretty new to the hobby and don't really know what I'm doing, though I've been interested for quite some time now. I purchased a helmet from Armory Props! First time using a rotary tool so I'm surprised I didn't screw it up too much. I tried pepakura a couple years ago and failed miserably so I thought maybe it's a good time to try foam now.
11896966_846889605360559_785281166_n.jpg
Metallic coat.
11950993_846923738690479_844403759_n.jpg
Matte black (perhaps this wasn't the best choice for color, but I can always repaint or buy another helmet).
11911195_847340281982158_410490085_n.jpg
Stripes on - Vaseline off.
11949813_850099138372939_81424692_n.jpg
It was incredibly difficult to attach the visor and make it fit, it took much longer than I anticipated.

Now for the armor, I just don't really know where to start. I have a few hundred #11 scalpel blades lying around, just bought a heat gun, already have a glue gun, so I think I have all the materials to start building! Got the EVA at Walmart, the only thing I probably want to get is a self healing cutting board.