Opinions for a Noob

Status
Not open for further replies.

SpartanZ913

Hello everyone!

Brand new to the forums and I figured I'd ask for your opinions on something.

I'm wanting to create some pepakura MJOLNIR for myself, and I've never done it before. And of course, I have to be a difficult person and find armor that I really like that, at least to my knowledge (and based on the site) has never been done before. So, to do it, I'll have to process the files myself, which seems like a pretty daunting task.

So my question is this: Would you recommend that I simply pick out some armor that has already been done, and has the .PDO files already created, or should I attempt to learn how to actually process the files so I can have the armor I actually want?

Thanks in advance, I hope to be posting a lot more in the future!

-SpartanZ913

Welcome to the 405th! You should make something you'll be happy with and want to finish.

That being said, I think it would be a good idea to familiarize yourself with the process of assembling an already made pep at least once before you set out to unfold one.

Doesn't mean you have to do a different armor either. A lot of armors share common pieces. Or there are other props from halo and other games out there. I chose to do a Pipboy from Fallout as my first project because it was small, intricate and once I finished I had something I could display.

What armor are you wanting to attempt but can't find the files?

Welcome to the 405th
what duke said is bang on the money about doing a small pep
may I suggest that you try low poly pep files first just to get the hang of it

What armor are you wanting to attempt but can't find the files?

The Viper helmet and Cinder armor. I found the raw assets, so I have those, but wasn't sure on the whole process. Got a friend who is experienced in doing it all, so he said he'd do the unfold for me like right before I hopped on this morning.