Painting and priming

Status
Not open for further replies.

LTRecon

I’m wondering what to use for paint and primer for Master chiefs armour.

First build. Will post updates as I go.

For the priming or "rubber coating" rustoleum leak seal is amazing. It's way more stronger than plasti-dip and does not wrinkle under extreme stress like plasti-dip does. Plasti-dip is a good runner up and and you see a lot of people use it, I've used it as well, but the Leak seal in my torture testing has proven to be much stronger and more durable.

How well does this work on cardboard? Also which colour of paint do you use. (Complete and utter newbie here)

For the priming or "rubber coating" rustoleum leak seal is amazing. It's way more stronger than plasti-dip and does not wrinkle under extreme stress like plasti-dip does. Plasti-dip is a good runner up and and you see a lot of people use it, I've used it as well, but the Leak seal in my torture testing has proven to be much stronger and more durable.
what is the secret to getting a smooth finish on the leak seal?

Sprays on smoother than plasti-dip. Just have to be careful, you get a lot more spray and pressure with Leak seal than plasti-dip. Keep your distance and lay even coats. I get beautiful finishes with Leak Seal.
20190205_193139.jpg

Get a bucket of lukewarm water that'll cover half of the can, shake the can for the recommended time, let it sit for five to ten minutes in the water and then shake the daylights out of it again to get a good mix inside. Nice light coats and aim for three coats roughly. Rustoleum Leak Seal is sandable once fully cured so if you do get a orange peel texture, sand it down lightly and recoat.

mine came out and was spraying large globs at arms distance. ill let that try then sand some of it and try another coat using the warm water trick when i get a day its not trying to rain