Pep Armour and Helmet - WIP

Status
Not open for further replies.

iwantaxbox360

First a big thank you for the time taken by so many members to provide high quality tutorial and LOTS of picture advice.

My son and I are both big halo fans, and thought a costume for halloween would be in order. So to outline my lack of experience in this field...
1. Had no idea what pepakura was until i found this site
2. Never made any paper/card or any kind of model in my life
3. Artistic ability is zero to a negative 10
4. Painting ability - akin to a 1st grader i think.
5. Glue gun experience - 0%

So I am not actually a good candidate for this project what wanted to give it a go. I will put pics up today of the progress so far. With the help of these tutorials on this site, i think i have done OK so far. This has been a learning curve of epic proportions for me.

My biggest worry is the resin and fiberglass stage , I have never worked with resin of fibreglass before, so my biggest concern will be messing the whole suit up.
I am currently remaking the helmet as i have gotten better with this pepakura, so the new helmet should be ready today.

I think i have read every post in this forum now yest i spent a month reading everything before i started to even consider making it.

You can see the helmet needs to be re-done, which is happening today.

Walter Spase

YAR!!! someone that read... hey, you have any questions about fiberglassing and detailing, shoot me a PM.. I'd be glad to lend you my experience...

preskewl

Same here.. If you need help let me know.. I actually gotta redo my calf.. It shrank during the fiberglass process.. I couldn't get my leg in there.. Cut it in half and still don't look right.. I guess, I'm back to paper folding and fiberglassing.. ;)

LastSpartan

Sr Member
This is a really nice job you did!

For the fiberglass, you just need to be patient or everything will end up with a big mess.

Follow the instructions, and your son will have his best HALOween!