questions about playing a spartan?

Status
Not open for further replies.
Or do you mean the helmet? I'm sorry I didn't read that super well.

You can make your helmet out of fibreglass with the pepakura method, or you can make it out of foam. You can also 3D print one as well, depending on your preference.

That is the real question, isn't it? Basically, you can make one out of anything that is transparent plastic, or you can get clear plastic, make a mould, and vacuform the shape you want. Or you can purchase one if you want, but I'm not very experienced with that end of things. So it depends on how much time, work, or money you want to spill into it.

Either way though, we are all here to help and a lot of us have more experience than I do myself.

It may prove useful if you want to build a Spartan helmet if you scale it SLIGHTLY larger than normal and install some fans to circulate air and keep your visor free. That way you won't feel so claustrophobic.

I meant all of it when I make it. I can't justify spending £2732.3 on a Master chief cosplay. I want something Lightweight but durable?

I tried a stormtrooper's helmet and had a panic attack

I can sympathize: whenever I wear a faceshield when I use my chainsaw I find it hard to breathe. Get enough ventilation and make the helmet comfortable (some strips of EVA foam as cushion) and you might be okay.

Papercraft may be the cheapest method: about $10 for cardstock and another $20 for fiberglass resin and matting, but you also must drop about $35 for a NIOSH approved respirator as resin fumes are terrible for your health.

I can sympathize: whenever I wear a face shield when I use my chainsaw I find it hard to breathe. Get enough ventilation and make the helmet comfortable (some strips of EVA foam as a cushion) and you might be okay.