Real jet-pack option for Spartan Armor( 250,000$)

Status
Not open for further replies.

wickedirish

I wanted to post this in the off-topic forum but I cant yet, and I just had to share.

I am a mechanical engineering student and I am always keeping up to date on cool start-up inventions but this one slipped by me.

The Martin Jetpack - 250k
small and capable of over a 200ft. jump or 20 secs of flight. Sound like something similar?

My idea ( ideas rarely result in a finished product)
We build rockets here for fun at my school, usually a group project and I am certain I am going to propose this next semester.
Why not cut the tank size down to 1/2 gallon of H2O2 , instead of 4g. Engine requirements are questionable atm but a little math and a student think tank could solve that...and shoot for a design that could lift a 200pd person several feet in the air for a dramatic jump?

I saw their youtube video and immediately thought of incorporating it into a costume. They currently make money performing shows and He's already wearing a costume of sorts lol. Anyway just a fun idea I thought I would share, if the proposal gets approved and interest doesnt wane...this might have a very slight chance of getting past the blueprint phase. I think this outrageous idea would be immensely fun to just to draw up and calculate the requirements.

A group of students from some school proposed the idea of a batman grappling hook and ran with it. They were successful, they even made several different *hooks* that attach/adhere to various materials, even flat concrete walls. The military actually bought it, if im not mistaken. Student Projects like these aren't impossible, just highly dangerous if saftey precautions arent met and costly.

Anyway thought I'd share, excited to get started on my Locke helmet in several weeks! I'm going to buy the cast from dutch props and go from there. Highly recommend everyone check their cast, looks amazing.