Scaling Down/The Importance of being Earnest/To my Fellow Film-makers

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sid

I've taken the time I've had off from school this week to work on my script for the series I have been developing and I realized that I can do one of two things. I can put out something mediocre and film it live-action and make the armor I can barely afford, have the ability, or means to build, or I could take the money I have and commission an artist into making the series into a comic first.

It sounds silly at first and not really that news shattering or even why someone would bother giving it a thread. Well, here it is, the point that is, "Scale down, be earnest, cause God knows you're not going to be the next Bay, Nolan, or Tarintino. So for the love of Pete don't act like you have their budget now!"

I've been an amateur film-maker for a while now. Any project worth a damn will cost you at least $100. That's money to cover your tapes, your gas and expenditure expenses, and maybe if you're lucky a little cash to throw towards the actors for helping you out or maybe lunch for them. After all actors are a responsibility and your Mother and I will only allow you to keep them if you feed, walk, and play with them regularly.

Me, I ain't going to lie. I'm a mediocre film-maker right now. Up until this point all my films have been shot as a handy-cam footage of fire scenes for the Volunteer Fire Departments I'm on. Even then I only film when I'm too sick to actually do my typical jobs on scene (My Primary Department I'm an Engineer who manages the trucks and water supply for all entry teams. Department B, I'm Entry/RIT.).