Scout Foam build help with gaps/filling. Kids size. Houston TX

Status
Not open for further replies.

Remy130

Hi Guys
noob here.

my 2 little boys want HALO costumes and foam seemed the easiest route for a beginner. 1 wanted a scout, and I dont care what the other one wants, hes getting an easier CE helmet after this.
I set up my tables and have most of supplies you guys have laid out except Bondo.

I scaled down a Scout helmet to fit my 7yr old, however while the width was perfect, in scale the helmet was way too short, so I added 2" of foam around to compensate. This makes it taller than the actual helmet and look odd, but to a 7yr old it shouldnt matter. If I did it to exact scale the front of the helmet would be sticking out way too far as a 7yr olds head is much larger than their body in relation.

I have a few issues and after reading Carpathia's thread on envirotex resin, I am at a crossing point with some questions and think Bondo might be my answer.

1. How do I fill in all the gaps/lines everywhere? Most say Bondo will crack over foam. Spackle?

2. I bought a lot of PVA/Elmers, would this go Under the Bondo to help it adhere? I have no aversions to bondoing the whole thing.

3. Was I supposed to cut the lines into the foam that are typically there for paper folding? It seems I could have gotten away with just heating and bending the foam without some of them. Ive been using steel helmet to bend the heated foam over so far.

4. I have not finished the top part of the helmet, as it appears for some reason if following the pattern it will be NARROWER than the bottom portion, I will now have to fill in the back gaps with some triangles and keep it wider in the back to fit over the bottom half, you can see as my hand squeezes the fit together its smaller than the base its supposed to attach to, not sure what I did wrong, perhaps didnt curve the top shell halves enough with heat gun.