Sizing + Me = Square Root Of -1

Status
Not open for further replies.

Haven923

Jr Member
FIRSTLY: The only camera I have is my phone. That's fine and dandy, but the problem is my dad has my cord to upload pictures to my computer and he is over a thousand miles away :eek

I'm relatively new to this as I have only been doing this for several weeks, but I have one BIG problem (two if you count budget :unsure ). I cannot size my armor. The first part of my armor I peped was the Mark VI LoRes. I cut, scored, and glued it only to have it come out so big that I could fit my head, a baseball cap, a mask, my right shoulder, and a small dog (Not really a dog, but everything else). I then resized it using a guide on the forums and it came out fitting, but my ears get smashed every time I put it on. I then made another n00b mistake (besides starting with the helmet): I printed out every upper body piece of armor. I used the method that Fry gave:
Add up your height in inches. There is 12" to a foot. We'll use my hieght for the example. I am 5'11" which equals 71 inches.

Divide that by 86: 71/86 = .82558

Multiply that number times the scale it currently is, 30.342: 30.342*0.82558 = 25.04979

Now in Pepakura, go into 2dPatternWindow and select "Scale Up/Down by specifying value"

Under scale, put in the new scale (for this equazion its 25.04979). Do this for all of your pieces to be symmetrical.

One thing to keep in mind

The size of the scale that is in use before you edit it is from the base of the ground to the top outside of MC's helmet. You don't really want the top of your head to be touching the top of the inside of the helmet if you expect it to fit right. So you may want to add two or three inches to your actual hieght before doing the math. This may help other areas as well, where it could come through a bit tight.
I'm roughly 6', and I added one inch to compensate (for glassing, &c.), then used the same scaling for all of the pieces.