Some Questions About Silicone Molding...

Status
Not open for further replies.

MandoMan531

So my WIP helmet master thread is over in the pepakura section and I'm planning to mold it. I've done research but I still have a few questions...

1: I know I'm using smoothcast300, but which silicone?
2: do I need release agent?
3: mothermold, fiberglass or smooth on?
4: is clay ok for a parting line?

I'm making a list, so I can order everything ahead of time(release agents etc)

So anyone with experience..Adam, Spase, anyone.. The a bit of recmmendations. Thanks!

I'm glad you are asking questions before you start. BUT, you should have sent a PM to one of the folks you mentioned in your OP or someone else with the experience. I unfortunately can't help you as I have no experience with molding. PM someone with experience and ask a mod to lock this.

actually I did awhile ago. But I know they were busy, so rather than flooding them with pm's, I posted this. They can lock it if they want.

MandoMan531 said:
So my WIP helmet master thread is over in the pepakura section and I'm planning to mold it. I've done research but I still have a few questions...

1: I know I'm using smoothcast300, but which silicone?
Rebound 25 is the easiest one to use.

2: do I need release agent?
Usually no but it doesn't hurt to use one.

3: mothermold, fiberglass or smooth on?
I'm not sure what you're asking here. You need a mothermold no matter what and it can be made of fiberglass, plaster of paris, Plasti-Paste, etc.

4: is clay ok for a parting line?
I think there is a major confusion on your part here. A parting line in an imaginary line on the model that represents where the silicone mold is going to be cut. You must be thinking of registration keys. Personally, I wouldn't use it.

Last edited by a moderator:
Rebound 25 it is, i did some more looking around last night and that came up alot.