Strengthening Pepakura Help - Non-Halo Half Face Mask

Status
Not open for further replies.

DaDevvy

Hi everyone, DaDevvy here.

I'm a high school student boarding in Australia who's looking to get into cosplay once I get out of the hellhole that is Year 12. So far the closest I have gotten to cosplay is making a small facemask from Pepakura software. My question is: how do I strengthen my face mask?

Please take note of my noobility. I have no experience whatsoever working in this medium. Explain it like I'm 5.

A few problems I have:
- It's not made of card-stock. It's 120gsm paper, stuck together with PVA with some of the glue also spread over the joins of the flaps on the inside. Should I reprint and remake my mask?
- Being a boarder in Australia, I know little of 'bondo'-like brands or of any kind of filler at all. I managed to get my hands on a small tube (150g) of Selleys Plasti-Bond Bog (with hardener), and I can easily access Selleys Rapid Spakfilla. Which is better/easier to use as a beginner?
- Fiberglass and resin techniques and tips, respirator types, Rondo? I want this mask to be an adequately strong piece that will last for years hopefully, or until I misplace it and never see it again. >_>
- I have a roll of Super Fibre Tape, a roll of 20m by 5cm. Is this what I need for my mask or do I have to find a large strip which covers it entirely?
- It only has the thickness of a sheet of paper. It doesn't have volume like a cube, it's virtually a curved flat surface. Would this affect the fibreglassing result in any way?
- Since the side edges curve around, would reinforcing it make it impossible to wear if I can't get my face past them? I can't wear the basic pep model without displacing the side flaps slightly.

The dimensions of the mask are 130mmx148mmx120mm (HWD). The design is (obviously) concave which I'm worried may affect the way I apply fibreglass to the form.