Tutorial: Blender To Pepakura

Status
Not open for further replies.

Droakir

Hey folks. You may not know me very well, because I've been a lurker on the 405th forums for a couple of weeks now. Reading, reading, and more reading. Now, however, I've decided that I'd like to post a tutorial to help you out with your beginning Pepakura modeling tasks.

Note: I do not believe that this tutorial should be in the Noob forum, since it can be used by anyone, and not just Noobs. However, since it is the only place that I can start a topic at the moment, I will let a moderator move it later. :)

Introduction

Please let me introduce myself. I am Droakir. You can try to pronounce it how you wish, but the real pronunciation is dro-uh-key-r. Some people call me Doc, or Dro, or Dr. Dro for short. I'm a professional computer programmer and graphic designer, and I have also begun working in amateur 3D modeling, gunsmithing, and (of course) armoring. I also speak two languages: English and Spanish.

But then, of course, you didn't come to hear about me! You came to learn how you could export your nifty little 3D Blender models into Pepakura!

This tutorial is generally based on the basic steps of moving a Blender model into the Pepakura software to make a physical, paper oragami-style model. These same steps, however, can be used to export from almost any 3D program. Just pay attention to the steps, and you'll get it!

So anyways, on to the tutorial!

What is Blender, and why should I be using it?

Blender is a 3D modeling program. The type that can be used to make those nifty special effects that you see in movies and television nowdays. Usually 3D modeling programs can cost a bundle - anywhere from $250 USD to almost $3000 USD. The difference between them and Blender, however, is simple.

Blender is free.