1st Build 3D Printed Mk V(B) Build - First build!

anklebiter

Not long after talking to my boyfriend about them, I started playing the Halo games and immediately fell in love with them. I had also been wanting to make some sort of armor for a cosplay but I wasn't sure which armor to do- right up until I played Reach. Sooo here we are lol. I figured I'd start a thread for it while I'm here.
I didn't change up too much about my spartan because of how much I like the base armor. I might change a few small things but for now, this is what I'm going for (using MoeSizzlac's models):
1703798724652.png
1703798796045.png

So far, I've got the armor mostly scaled in Armorsmith and I also started printing the helmet. It's taken SO many attempts to even get the first layer to adhere, but after some bed leveling, speed adjustments, and persistence, I finally got to at least this point:
1703799510895.png

I'm praying that I can successfully do this- I've never printed anything that took more than maybe like, 8 hours before. This is going to be around 4+ days so I'm a bit nervous, especially after the terrible failure that I had the last time I tried to print something overnight. But with this, I've got past the point where it's just supports and a bit of the actual helmet is there! So this gives me hope, even though there are a few points that I'm a little nervous about.

That's all for now- expect me to talk wayyyyy too much on this thread. I'm excited about this project and hope that I can make it happen! If anyone's got any tips, do tell!

I'm excited for this build! Welcome to the 405th!

It looks like your nozzle is really close to the bed- at least on the side of the bed that is closest to the camera. It might help to tighten the front two hand screws a quarter of a turn.

Just so you know, you can print the helmet in pieces if you have trouble. I'm sure It'll look great either way! Excited to see how this turns out!