All Metal Props

Status
Not open for further replies.

Brandon McClain

Hey y'all! So I am totally new to the 405th, but have been reading it over and working on my MKvi for about 3 weeks now and have decided to try and put some of the skills I have learned as and engineering student to good use. I have free access to a full shop on campus with a CNC machine, 5 axis mill, and many other tools, and I only have to pay for materials. I want to do either the shotgun or ODST SMG with movie quality detail in all metal. First, I was wondering which one more people would be interested in having. Second, I was hoping for some hi res refence photos from multiple angles so I can build my 3D models. The reason I am looking to do a hi res model, is so that I don't have to mold. I can cut as many parts as often as I want in the lab and it only cost materials. I thought it would be nice addition to the 405th armory. Let me know what you think. I'm always open to requests.

There should be some great HD models around here already, you will just need the makers permission to use them. as for which one to build, people around here prefer it if you choose it bieng your project etc...

Good luck, I can't wait ti see what you come up with.

I plan on doing both, just wondered if there was more of a desire for one or the other. I am going to PM Spartan II about blueprints, which should be a good start. As far as other HD models, I use Catia and NX 4.0, whose model files are usually non-compatible with other software so I have to start from scratch.

Just based off of looking at which projects people make here...the H1 / H3 assault rifle, SMG (now silenced ODST SMG), and Sword seem to be the most popular. personally I think the SMG's and shotgun look too much like real guns for me to carry around when I'm in costume, but the Assault Rifle is very Halo.