Hello! My first build thread - ODST

IMP3RIOUS

Hey all, new guy here from the UK! I started this build a few years ago, but after a few health scares i never got to finish it, so only recently picked it back up again and actually looking forward to making some progress with it now! So i'll give you the run down
I have no background in making anything like this, so just kind of making it up as i go along with the help of all the resources available :D

So this is the beginning of my first ever build! I've always loved the ODST and been following a number of peoples builds on the 405th Facebook group for a while now so decided this is the route i wanted to go down for my first ever build. My idea/plan is to do the full armour set but starting with the helmet.
After looking at a number of different files available online, I decided to purchased the BrinkStudio Halo 3 ODST files for my build!
I own a Ender 3 V2 Neo Printer, and as you guys know, the bed size is rather small, and there was very little files online for broken up models to print on smaller beds and i didn't want to have to go down the MeshMixer route. I know the basics of Fusion360, so i decided this is where i would convert a mesh to solid, and then break up the helmet into 9 pieces and glue together to begin with!

So, here's how i stared, by breaking up the helmet into 8 pieces in Fusion360. Before i knew about ArmourSmith, i decided to measure my head, make a sphere in Fusion360 and then size the helmet based on that!
So below is my broke up model and how i planned to print the pieces.

odst 1.JPG
odst 2.JPG

PRINTING

So, i decided to slice my files in Cura, using a 0.6 printing nozzle, 0.25 layer height with 15% infill with some tree supports for some places, brim bed adhesion , printing with PLA+ at 100mm/s. Each part was roughly take between 10/15 hours to print, and over the course of 8 days i began to slowly get all the pieces printed for my helmet!

1.jpg
2.jpg
3.jpg
4.jpg