Magnets

Status
Not open for further replies.

Shadowshail

RMO
405th Regiment Officer
Hey i am new to this but i had an idea that would be really cool if i can integrate it into my armor. Though if anyone else has already done it then that is cool too and i would love to hear how they did it!

OK, In the last couple of Halo games if you had a weapon and had it as your secondary it would appear on your back. Well i was thinking if you could plant some strong magnets into the back of your armor and then plant some more into each of your weapons you could easily carry around the gun on your back whenever you don't want to hold it. The same can go for a pistol on your leg, or even the Sword hilt on the leg as well.

Let me know what you think!

Also i am a down to earth guy so any comments regarding this is welcome in my book.

My only concern with magnets that large or that strong would be any equipment near by that might be affected. I don't think any cell phone is going to tolerate being around those, so I would keep that in mind.

I've got a photo of my thigh mount for a pistol in here, there's a description of how I did it somewhere but I can't seem to find it :unsure I'll post it when I do but basically I found magnets alone wouldn't hold it on the thigh properly. It had a habit of spinning around and falling off if bumped, even with powerful magnets. What I had to do was build a "key" on the thigh that locked the rotation, a pin prevents upward or downward movement, and the magnets holds it from there.

I've looked at doing the back mounted weapon, though I never bothered to finish any rifles, but it's a lot more complicated because of the shape of the back piece... if it was one flat area you could throw a couple of big magnets in there and be pretty good but there's not a lot of surface area on the standard Mk VI back. It is possible, just requires some engineering... which I should do one of these days...