Newbie "Rondo" Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Enigma516

First I want to say thank you for all the amazing information on the site. I am looking forward to start working on a project shortly.

I am a newbie to this process. I keep hearing / reading the term Rondo. However I can not seem to figure out exactly what it is.

I believe it is a mix of Bondo and resin... Is that correct? If so what type of bondo? and what is the ratio of bondo to resin?

Thank you all for the help.

Welcome to the forum!

Rondo tends to be a 50-50 mix of resin and bondo, or a similar ratio dependant upon how viscous (runny) you want your bondo to be. Since bondo itself is simply a filler powder additive to resin, you're simply re-diluting the bondo back to a more resin-dominant form, so experiment until you find a consistency that's suitable for your purposes. It's generally useful to use the same brand of resin as bondo, to ensure maximum compatibility between your hardeners.

As for the use of rondo: it's best used to 'build up' details on your work that would otherwise be difficult to assemble in Pepakura form (raised areas, etc). It's not recommended that you use it as a primary strengthening method to your props, since it's a very brittle substance and will shatter with reasonable impact.

That's a brief outline of rondo - if you need further information, there should be one or two decent threads around here that explain the benefits in more detail.

Good luck with your builds!

Adding to what has already been said, be careful with rondo, it generates very large amounts of heat, painful burning heat. Also if you have decided to use hot glue in a pepakura model it can melt the glue and cause it to bubble or warp. These glue bubbles can be easily wiped off though, so just be careful using rondo, as with any chemical mix we use here.

I was at a friends home last week helping with glassing his armor. he did a Rondo pour in a arm.