Proper Supplies

Status
Not open for further replies.

Regs117

Hello everyone, i'm new to the 405th community and want to get started asap on a project. The only problem is im not sure what the best supplies are for armor making. I've looked through tons of threads but there are so many different suggestions of what to use, it gets a little confusing. So if anyone knows what a good list of supplies would be, i would really appreciate the help.

it all depends on budget and how much time you want to spend as well as how much detail you want to put in to it. you have to give us that information before we can properly assess you. also, i'm going to go ahead and guess that a mod is going to tell you to resize your signature as it is probably too large.

i'm willing to spend as much time and put as much detail on it as i can for budget of around $100 . And I will try to find a smaller signature.

hmmm, well then you have a few choices. Clay and sculpting then mold making and casting. The pepakura work and resin. cardboard props and so on.

Depending on how much you need, the average price for resin goes for about $20 or so. but you also need a brush for that to "paint" it on. fiberglass cloth. depending on what piece your working on you'd need something like expanding foam (another $10-$20) and so on.

you can try this too!

[media]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c1WK26NHx0o[/media]

Thanks, I have the pepakura downloaded and i found some bondo and brushes in my garage. So that means all I need is resin, fiber glass, foam and cardstock for the pepakura right?

yea thats about it, also dont forget to buy some 180 and 110 and 80 grit sand paper, makes it so much easier when it comes to sanding the bondo if u dont need to do it too smooth on the 1st sand

Cool, i also heard there were different types of cardstock, which type would be best, and how much bondo would I need for a MKVI suit?