Sanding question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Welaara

Hello everyone!

I have decided to redo my Mandalorian costume and ran into a strange situation. When I first started sanding my 3D print I had no issue. As I have painted it and now re-sanding, I'm having issue getting the paint off. It starts to clump and has a sticky texture. I have attached a picture to show what's going on.

This is my first build ever and have no idea what's I'm doing haha. So I was wondering if anyone knew what is causing this difficulty getting this off. Did the paint not cure all the way when I put it on or is the normal? I would like to avoid this in future builds. Thank you for your time!

Sincerely Welaara :)
2DB8BE38-5970-44C7-8B78-911B2821B071.jpeg

Might not be totally cured, or it might just be melting. If it’s not cured you should let is be for a day and come back to it or use paint stripper, (maybe acetone but 3D prints don’t usually like it) but make sure the plastic of the helmet won’t react badly first or use a knife and scrape it.
If it’s melting just leave it for like 20 mins and check it again.

You might also try changing your sandpaper to a lower grit. My guess it it’s getting pretty clogged from sanding that.

What kind of paint did you use originally?

There's another couple of things that could be an issue:
1. Did you make sure to completely clean the surface of any dust or dirt before painting? A good way to do so is with isopropyl.
2. If you were printing in cold temps, it's a good idea to leave the can submerged in a bucket of warm water for about 10 minutes to break up any chunks of paint inside, and of course, make sure to shake it well.

(maybe acetone but 3D prints don’t usually like it)
I think that a number of filaments, or at the very least PLA/PLA+ don't react to acetone - at least that's what I found when looking how to smooth PLA prints more easily. Probably best for someone to fact check that before going with it.