Strankyman's Mkvi Helmet Build

Status
Not open for further replies.

Strankyman

Jr Member
Hey everyone!

This is my first ever helmet, so I'm quite nervous as to how it's going to turn out. The first problem I ran into was size. I forgot to scale. So now it's like I share my room with MC himself. Despite this I'm continuing with this helmet to test out the technique, while I pep another SCALED helmet :) .

As you can probably see I'm a noob, a noob who's Mum won't let him use fibreglass. Instead I've turned to the magic that is mod-roc (basically plaster of paris on a mesh, just add water) for the first couple of layers on my helmet:

DSC05739.jpg

DSC05740.jpg

DSC05741.jpg

DSC05742.jpg

So far I have added 1 layer of Mod-roc.

After I have added 2 layers of Mod-roc on the outside and 1 on the inside, I plan to add a layer of plaster-cine over the top to smooth everything off, followed by resin to harden and seal. Is plaster-cine the right material to use at this point? As bondo is also out of the equation (Mum's ayy? ¬¬)

Thank you for reading :D

Stranky

Thanks! :pA big part of the 'correctly-scaled' helmet I'm pepping atm will be the electronics :D got a few bits and pieces planned which I haven't seen done on the forums yet. But more of that when the helmet's pepped.

Stranky

Looks pretty good, especially for a first build.

May I suggest that you use one of mroreos smoothed pep files for your next pep. I am unable to link them at the moment but do a search for mroreos smooth pep and they'll come up. The danifoodforless HD helm has fewer parts than a regular unfold of a low def helm, and will take less work to finish.

Rosh said:
Looks pretty good, especially for a first build.