Does Resin Eat Away At Spray Foam?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jeddychan

Hey 405 members,

My friend is making a subject delta costume just like me, and we've been exchanging ideas to make our costumes as best and easily as we can. After he fiberglassed his helmet, he covered it with some expanding foam, which he plans to carve out details in.

I was wondering, if I used some "Great Stuff" expanding foam, and resined the foam after I carved details, would the resin eat away at the foam???

I'd use the resin just to protect the foam from being dented or whatnot.

And I know, some of you are asking, "Why don't you just use rondo/bondo?"

Well, two reasons,

1) I've never used bondo before

2) I believe the foam will be easier to carve grooves into, rather than trying to carve grooves into bondo.

Any information is appreciated.

EDIT: also, for people who have used fiberglass mat and cloth, does fiberglass mat fray as much as cloth does? because with cloth, you have to be careful around the edges or you have fiberglass threads everywhere...

Heres a picture of the kind of foam Im talking about:

foam-spray-00.jpg

no it doesnt dissolve it but you know that stuff is hard to put on thinly so you're going to either be wasting a lot of foam or makeing your helmet quit a bit bigger

box o crayons said:
no it doesnt dissolve it but you know that stuff is hard to put on thinly so you're going to either be wasting a lot of foam or makeing your helmet quit a bit bigger

Thanks, and putting it on thinly isn't a problem, since the model I used was striped of most detail, so I'm actually trying to build it up a bit.

At least now I know when I finish fiberglassing I can go ahead and use the foam.

Last edited by a moderator:
In my experience, no it doesn't eat away at the foam. (Assuming the foam is cured.) If it isn't, you kinda end up with a gooey mix.

Cheers!