WIP: Half Life, Gordon Freeman's crowbar using fiberglass putty

Status
Not open for further replies.

guybrush

Project is finished! Scroll down

hey,

hope you accept Half-Life stuff here :cool

I'd like to share my progress on building a crowbar as part of an HEV costume which I'm currently pepping.

As a noob, I think such a prop might be a good start to learn some skills like bondoing, sanding, painting, weathering and so son.

So I made the "body" out of fiberglass putty which I skimmed into a cardboard "rack". Like this
crowbar-5-1.jpg

Inside you see two lines of acrylic which is suppoed to keep the putty into a hexagonal shape. Later the cardboard and acrylic can be torn off the "cast".

Here's the fiberglass resin filled into the mould:
crowbar-7-1.jpg

After curing, I've noticed that the putty became very VERY rigid due to the glass fibers. Didn't expect that...

The basic shape after getting rid of the "mould":
crowbar-8.jpg

Now a first layer of bondo, actually my first contact with bondo :) , and wetsanded:
crowbar-9.jpg

More bondo-layers needed... but I didn't expect a perfect surface after my first bondoing either :)

Any feedback would be appreciated.

Greetings from Germany

I like it =D
it does beg the question why not just get a real crowbar, but i guess this would be lighter and safer if you wanted to cosplay or something.
It is looking rather good =D

I'm not quite sure if a real crowbar would be allowed at most costuming events. Plastic is much more... safe? I guess, if you bash someone over the head with it. It will still hurt, but probably not cave in your skull.

Even if it were allowed, which I highly doubt, a real crowbar will get heavy fast. This is a good idea, probably cut the weight by 75% or more. I've seen a lot of prop crowbars, and none of them look nearly as good as this one.