Halo 4 117 - First WIP

Status
Not open for further replies.

rabinosa

Hey everyone, my name is rab, and this is my first attempt. at armor making, not life. well life too i guess.

I don't think of it as a "noob" build, as i have done work of a similar nature for years now, instead I would like consider myself to be "experience deficient" ©

haha.

so i started building this around a week ago, and i would have started my thread at the beggining. but instead, as it happens, you are about to get a healthy dose in one go.

first off, i wanted this whole build to be completely fiberglass free.
Nothing wrong with it, but my workspace and equipment mean that fiber-glassing would have been one big nightmare.

Instead i opted for alternative materials to provide the strength.

With the help of everyone's information i set sail:

i want to hopefully come out with something resembling this at the end:

New-master-chief-armor_halo4-640.jpg

the first piece i pepped was the helmet by harnor. now, at the time, i was only planning on pepping the helmet. and nothing more. which is why the helmet was made using some crappy 80gsm paper and a pritt stick. NIGHTMARE.

405th___helmet_pep_by_rabinosa-d58g7qh.jpg

needless to say. warping occurred. however at this point, when I imagined that my brain would call it a day, and declare this as "something i would not pursue" the exact opposite happened. i felt compelled to carry on, and decided i was going in. deep.

i purchased myself some card, resin & halfords body filler (as I am in the uk, and could not find any trace of the recommended "bondo").

and as quick as it had started, it was back on.

i had decided that considering i had just done a particularly complicated pep, i would try and get the big bits out of the way first and chose the torso as the next item to pep.

naturally i measured myself up, scaled the piece up and hit print. of course forgetting to put the edge id's on and to turn the model off.