First Timer. Mark VI Pep Build!

Status
Not open for further replies.

kdbar

Hey guys! I posted at RPF, but realized that I would probably get more advice and tips by posting here. I'm currently in the process of building my Mark VI pep armor. It's my first time working on anything like this so please bear with my noob questions! Here are pictures of all the pieces that I finished coating with one layer of resin on the outside. I just need to finish pepping the two boots as well as the helmet that I'm saving for last. I wanted to ask if they look okay so far. I'm a little worried that the thigh piece is too large, but I'm not sure about that.

Other than that, I plan to put a second layer of resin on the outside, then put a layer on the inside, add fiberglass cloth via adhesive spray, then put a final coat of resin on the inside to cover the cloth. Would this plan be okay?

Cod piece (not resin'ed yet) I plan to add a support to pull in the front plate so so it is not as wide.
AKkLi7bh.jpg

rGAvHYDh.jpg

ga6xY2nh.jpg

Chest piece (not resin'ed yet). Still need to add in supports before starting the resin.
RoISBtkh.jpg

Bicep piece (one layer of resin)
umObO7gh.jpg

Forearm piece (one layer of resin)
3YeBCKnh.jpg

Thigh piece (one layer of resin) Worried about it being too big. What do you guys think?
b0yYujJh.jpg

MBCCz1dh.jpg

Shin piece (one layer of resin) I sized it just enough to fit my feet through it so I don't have to cut any pieces. Doesn't look too big so I'm happy with it!
TKAnbpAh.jpg

Hand plate (not resin'ed yet) Had to size it down a lot since I have tiny wrists/hands. Looks to be ok. Thoughts?
7Oykg11h.jpg

I used the leftover cardstock paper, rolled them up, and used them to support the pieces with masking tape. It's been a pretty good way to keep the structure rigid as I resin :) Do I detach the chest piece after I do all of the resining and fiberglassing?