Motion's First attempt at Spartan bucket! (Cleanup/Visor/Paint work on a Mark V Cast)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Motion26

**SKIP TO LOWER PORTION OF PAGE 7 FOR NEARLY COMPLETED PIC'S**

**OCT 5th UPDATE**

Hey guys, I've been lurking on the forums for a while and recently I've started my first spartan helmet :-D. Since I'm new to bondo, sanding and painting things like this I figured I'd start off with an easier route by purchasing a Mark V cast then do all the cleanup work, repairing warping, mounting a visor and painting it myself :).

This helmet is going to be based off the halo reach version of caboose from RvB. Below I'm posting some pictures of the cast pre modifications then some pictures as it progresses. At the moment I'm working on molding the chin to a symmetrical shape using bondo puddy, I've fixed all of the other major issues at this point, cut out the visor, cut out the vents, did my first round of sanding with 120 grit sand paper and did a few layers of primer so I could get a good look of wear its at right now (plus I couldn't resist xD). If All goes well the shape of the chin should be proper today then I can mount that visor and get to painting :D.

Speaking of painting, I haven't painted any types of plastic before. So what I did to get a feel for it is I got a laptop cover, sandid it and primed it quickly and I've been kinda messing around with it to see what the colours look like and how it reacts :p

paintcopy.jpg

defectscopy.jpg

fixing2copy.jpg

*EDIT* I apologize some of the pictures are kind of small :-/ the original copies are quite large, I think the combination of editing them to fit together plus photobucket automatically reducing the size likely made them a little small.

paintcopy.jpg

defectscopy.jpg

fixing2copy.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:
Thanks :), any feedback is appreciated - pretty well everything I'm doing is based off of what I see people doing on the 405th :p