Casting Supplies?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Aiden26

Hey guys, I'm a little new to Costume making and I was wonder if the lovely members of the 405th can share their knowledge about Slush Casting Helmets? Let's go over some stuff. I know there's a Brand called Smooth-On. I don't like those products because their a bit pricey for my taste. I heard when slush casting, to make the cast stronger you an add some Fiber Glass resin in. Do you just dump that in with Part A and B at the same time? And is it for only one layer or for all of the layers? Also I would like to talk about Rondo. I know lots of people hear use rondo to harden the inside of helmets. Would Rondo work for slush casting? One person said it would be to brittle another said it could work. I don't know. And is there other supplies to use for casting besides liquid plastic? If anyone can help out with these questions that will be very helpful. Thanks! :)

You can indeed strengthen a cast by adding fiber glass, it's the same principle as concrete with added steel wire.

Also, I wouldn't suggest using rondo for casting, if it were to fall it might break.

I would just use resin with fiberglass to cast if you want to keep it cheap. you do need a silicone mold then though. This is tricky to do without getting bubbles, unless you vacuumbag it.

You can indeed strengthen a cast by adding fiber glass, it's the same principle as concrete with added steel wire.

Also, I wouldn't suggest using rondo for casting, if it were to fall it might break.

I would just use resin with fiberglass to cast if you want to keep it cheap. you do need a silicone mold then though. This is tricky to do without getting bubbles, unless you vacuumbag it.

I'm fine with bubbles. I can just give it a light sanding. Also would I add Fiberglass to every layer or just one?