Status
Not open for further replies.

PerniciousDuke

RCO & BCO
405th Regiment Officer
Member DIN
S128
Hey all!

After my pepakura project is done I am thinking I'll probably venture into foam crafting. To me one of the most important part of foam work is the cleaness and straightness of your cuts. What tools would you recommend with that in mind?

I saw these and thought they were a great idea. Something large that you can really apply some pressure to plus exact radius and bevel cuts.
Foamwerks Cutting Tools

Foam board or EVA? Those products say they’re designed for foam board. Doesn’t look like you get enough blade for thicker EVA. But thinner stuff looks like it’ll work for a few cuts anyway. Looks tough to sharpen blades tho too.
I’m still a novice but have built one suit in foam. And all I can say is sharp blade, patience and practice are the only tools you really need. I look forward to seeing your foam crafting

Hey all!

After my pepakura project is done I am thinking I'll probably venture into foam crafting. To me one of the most important part of foam work is the cleaness and straightness of your cuts. What tools would you recommend with that in mind?

I saw these and thought they were a great idea. Something large that you can really apply some pressure to plus exact radius and bevel cuts.
Foamwerks Cutting Tools
Yasss!! About time you dipped your feet into the lake of foamsmithing! :D

So...the #1 important thing in foam crafting is pretty much cleanliness of cuts. Buy some nice sharp blades, sharpen them often. I use craft knives with extending blades, they do a nice job cutting, and when they get dull, I just snap them. You can also use scalpels, they're suuupeer sharp and cut through foam like butter.

Getting straight cuts isn't too hard, I'm sure you'll find. A metal ruler used as a guide will make straight lines pretty easy. Bevels however...those take a little bit of practice.