Halo Infinite MK50 Sidekick Prop (EVA Foam) build

Gibson Slayer

WhatsApp Image 2023-07-17 at 8.07.55 PM.jpeg

Hi there! Hope you are doing well. On this thread I´m discussing onto how I made my MK50 Sidekick from Halo Infinite. I had seen some in 3d printing, but not a lot on EVA Foam. I hope this is useful for anyone getting into EVA foam, and of course: feedback is welcome. It´s my first weapon prop from EVA after all...

First off, I used a combination of 8mm foam and 5mm foam. I used my main reference/guideline Andrew DFT´s work. I saw his Youtube vid on the 2020 sidekick, but I liked more the 2021 sidekick, so I decided to print his template and modify it putting on the lantern on the downside.
Since there, I started drawing on the template 4 times on the 8mm and putting them one above another, trying to be as precise as possible. I used contact cement as glue, and since there: draw all the details with a pencil.
WhatsApp Image 2023-07-17 at 8.15.27 PM.jpeg

After that, I made on even more details, and used 5mm foam for the lantern, as it´s on a high relieve compared to the rest of the arm, I also checked out the in-game 3d model to keep on all the details.

After I finished making the base model, I sealed it up with a heat gun (for around 5 minutes, and used it on different layers of the paint), and used black paint and Hunter Green paint as a base paint.
WhatsApp Image 2023-07-17 at 8.15.28 PM.jpeg

Next up, spray painted some parts. I checked out some videos and found how to apply different weathering tecniques depending on the material of the actual gun, but more on that later.

WhatsApp Image 2023-07-17 at 8.15.29 PM.jpeg Taping is important for when you go up to spray paint. Make sure you cover all the things you don´t want painted. Use painters tape.