Hardening Pepakura w/ SmoothCast 320

Status
Not open for further replies.

Seraphin290

Greetings, 405th! It's been a long time since I've posted here, but I'm waist-deep in an ODST armor project at the moment. Had to take some time off for personal and occupational reasons, but I'm finally back in a position where I can regularly work on this.

At any rate, I've finished the Pepakura stage of the armor - every piece is put together, and I've started hardening the paper with SmoothCast 320 epoxy resin (at the recommendation of several users). The outer coat is finished on just about all of the pieces, but given that I've never worked with this stuff before, I had a couple of questions that I'm hoping some of you veterans can answer.

First, I read the directions and safety data sheets for the SmoothCast, so I know to shake it vigorously before mixing it (which I've been doing). However, I forgot to on a couple batches that I mixed. Afterward, the parts that I used that resin on are coated, but it doesn't seem to be adding any rigidity to the piece, and just kind of soaking into the paper. It's had 24 hours to cure - maybe it just needs longer? If it doesn't get any tougher in the next day or two, I'm just going to have to re-do it. Is this normal, or did I do something wrong (other than not shaking the mixture)?