Smooth cast 300 with vallejo primer gets soft

zorro

Hi everyone,

my english is not the best but I hope you understand me. I'm still very new in the modeling and painting and try out a lot. Currently I'm using Smoothcast300 and that has worked quite well so far. Now I try to paint my parts with Aribrush and Vallejo acrylic paints. For priming I use Vallejo Primers Grey 74.601 and as compressor I use Airbrush Compressor Set Compressed Air Spray Gun Includes 1x Piston Compressor & 11 Pcs Airbrush Spray Guns Set (with Storage Case

My problem is that after priming, the part becomes soft or sticky in some areas, and I don't know what is causing it.

I don't think it's due to drying time because it stays that way even after several days.

I suspect it is either the component or in some areas, the primer or the compressor because it sometimes blows out a lot of water.

Have any of you experienced this before and do you have a solution for me?

Thank you in advance.

zorro is it possible that there's any of your release agent from casting still on the part causing a reaction with the paint? As long as the Smoothcast 300 is fully cured it shouldn't be reacting negatively with an acrylic primer.

Hi TurboCharizard
thanks for your answer.

I have also thought that I may have taken a wrong mixing ratio but that this then only occurs in some places makes no sense to me. Because I let the component dry for days and also cleaned a second component with soap, it makes it even more confusing for me.
It is hard for me to understand why it is only in some places.
additional info
I have two parts. I trim them to fit together and use Smoothcast as a "glue". can this be a reason and if so how do you glue two parts together?

There are a few more things I could do.
Skip the primer (easiest way, but I don't know if it makes a difference if I use Vallejo primer or Vallejo acrylic paint as a first layer).