Darksaber Energy Sword

kablamme

I have this concept that I really want to bring to life for my custom ODST cosplay, only I am not sure how I should go about it. I was thinking about just getting the foam energy swords and repainting, but where is the fun in that! It's gotta light up! I am very new to the halo costuming community so I am not sure what people usually use for prop energy swords, or what is even possible. I think if there is a way to make it just glow around the edges that would be good enough for me. Not sure what that plastic material people use for lightsabers is called, I'll have to look into that too, especially those who make darksabers. Does anyone have any advice or suggestions, I am open to anything! Thank you <3
daarksaber.png
bokatanodst.png

Gorgeous mockup :D

I have made the circuits and lighting effects for a bunch of energy swords, feel free to ask me anything. To get the 3d look, the preferred blade material is PETG. It is a clear and durable, thermoplastic that can be vacuum molded. I have some info here on the lighting parts

Some other ideas:
* Use a flat sheet of plexiglass and edge light it.
* Draw a path, and affix EL wire along the surface

Gorgeous mockup :D

I have made the circuits and lighting effects for a bunch of energy swords, feel free to ask me anything. To get the 3d look, the preferred blade material is PETG. It is a clear and durable, thermoplastic that can be vacuum molded. I have some info here on the lighting parts

Some other ideas:
* Use a flat sheet of plexiglass and edge light it.
* Draw a path, and affix EL wire along the surface