Halo: The Series Discussion Thread

Status
Not open for further replies.
So I'm pretty new to the Halo games. Don't know much about the lore. I will say, the series got me interested in the games and I have been playing my way through them. I read somewhere that the developers of the show wanted to use aspects of the game but didn't want to just tell the same story over again. So from that perspective I can appreciate the show apart from the game. I actually really like it. Me and my friend recently joined the forums here because of it.

As a fan of Star Wars and a member of several Star Wars costuming clubs, I view new content as a way to keep what I love to do alive. I don't like every Star Wars film or show. But, the fact that they keep making them gives me an opportunity to go out in costume and do events in the community because new content keeps the franchise relevant for the general public and the casual viewer/fan.

I thought the acting was great. The costumes were on point, even for the background characters. I thought the characters were written in a way that a wide variety of audiences could relate to the story.

Just started a rewatch because why not? Since they knew they were going to have a second season, I wish they had spent more time establishing a positive relationship between John and the UNSC. It would have made the betrayal a little more significant and given us some more awesome fight scenes. I wish shows (in general) didn't start off with ground-shaking conflict like this because it just isn't as compelling, and gives the show a negative tone instead of a positive one. I always felt like Halo was a very positive tone with dark themes hiding in the background. I also feel like the covenant war would have been a good enough conflict to make season 1 exciting without all this John self-discovery and UNSC betrayal stuff.