SAFETY FIRST! Index

PerniciousDuke

RCO & BCO
405th Regiment Officer
Member DIN
S128
***This is a living document and will be updated periodically
***Please feel free to comment with corrections, tips, or horror stories in the comments below

***Disclaimer, take any advice in this post or in the comments with a grain of salt. No advice is the end all be all. Your situation/application/products may be different and require different safety steps. Do your own research, test small and always be overly safe if you are unsure***

Also, I am not an expert. I just do my research before attempting anything new and we all feel like there needs to be something on the 405th that instructs new members to do the same.

This is not a tutorial, if it was it would read:

1. Wear the appropriate PPE (Personal Protective Equipment) ie. gloves, long sleeves, respirator etc
2. Be in a well ventilated and safe space
3. ALWAYS READ THE LABEL FIRST - at the end of the day, your safety is your responsibility

Instead we'll just cover what some of the PPE items are, what it means to be in a safe space and some safety protocols for products we commonly use in cosplay.

When should I use safety equipment?

Always. But especially if you are:
  • Working with any kind of chemicals
  • Cutting something
  • Sanding something
  • Using any power equipment
  • Any kind of Painting, especially if it uses air
  • Mixing anything
  • Gluing something
Very especially if you are:
  • Sanding or Cutting hardened fiberglass (this is the worst!)

PPE (Personal Protective Equipment)

Gloves -

For the most part Latex gloves are a must have on-hand product for crafting (pun intended). Note, some people have allergies to latex. Nitrile has also become very popular in the workplace as it is stronger, less likely to tear.