Spartan Blade: first ever attempt at this

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rustmonkey

As the title suggests, I am a complete noob to anything like this. I discovered the forum a few days ago after watching some of the great Youtube vids. I have to say that I am not a big game player and have only brushed quickly over Halo, however, this seems by far the best site for pepakura knowledge and I was blown away by the sheer skill you guys and gals have.

SO.....I thought I'd give it a go.

My intention is to eventually build an helmet but rather than jump in at the deep end, I thought a smaller project would be the best course of action as I have no doubt that I will make mistakes along the way and felt that the Spartan blade would give me a good understanding of all the required steps as well as giving me experience that can eventually be used on a bigger project.

This afternoon, having been out and purchased my basic starter kit: Printer, 200gsm card, steel rule, Knife, cutting matt, glue gun, I set about printing out and building the Pep.

image_zps2c1dd2a3.jpg

First thoughts are....The glue gun takes a bit of getting used too and the pep tabs can be fiddly little blighters but all in all I am quite pleased with it so far, having completed the blade section. Not to your high standards but a starting point at least ;)

image_zpsa70ad33b.jpg

I am watching and reading and trying desperately to ensure that I don't ask any noob questions.

Any help or advice will be most welcome.

A razor blade could go a long way in making it look better. Just use it to remove any glue that's come out from under the folds.

I'm new to this myself and I haven't even gotten started yet. Looks nice, even for a first try.

thnx.......I will tidy it up once I have the pep complete.

With the dagger being so thin.....when I do the Inner Rondo......is it best to coat the inside or do people completely fill it for a more solid feel???