using sketch up

Status
Not open for further replies.

rachciav

well the title pretty much explains it, but i just made the elbow armor for arms race marines, in sketch up, but now i dont know how to turn it into a pep file. do i just save it as .pdo or something more complicated? im really new at doing this, so any help is apreciated. thanks! :D

Go to file in sketchup. Then go to export then click 3D Model. Then choose the destination. After that go to Pepakura and the file should be where you put.

i dont have google earth, so ill try to export the file. should i change it form .pdo now or just keep it.

edit: ok so i tried to export it, and it saved ad a .dwg and said something about auto CAD. then i opened up pep designer, and went to where i exported the file, it wasnt there, so i open the folder separatly and found it, then i ried to open it using pep and it said cannot load file of specified type er some thing like that..did i do anything wrong?

I pretty sure you don't need Google Earth. You just have to save it as one. A export type pull-down box will be under the File Name box.

what do you mean save it as one?
and if anyone else can give me advise on this stuff id be really happy. because i would like to contribute to this site more, and eventualy make pep stuff for everyone. i know theres a big work load put on the few pep file creator people we have, and id like to help them out.

edit: i cant find the export in the pull down box

1.Go to Sketchup and go to file.

2.Once in the file menu go to export.

3.Then select 3D Model.
[attachment=2798:sketch_u...xporting.jpg]

4.Once in the export model box select the destination.

5.Before you export it go to the "Export Type" pull down box and save it as a Google Earth 4(*.kmz) [attachment=2799:sketch_u...orting_2.jpg]

thanks i just figured that out and i just printed it after scaling and everything, i hope its the right size. and once i finish the rest of the armor ill post it if any one wants it.