Where do you get most of your supplies?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Zei

I'm just 100% interested where everyone gets their supplies. :) I'm an artist, but want to move onto 3D modeling and sculpture design (aka armor). Aha!

Well I usually get my fiberglass, resin, bondo, hardener, card stock, and ink from Walmart. Bondo and fiberglass almost always come with hardener and are found in the automotive department, the card stock and ink are usually found in electronics near the printer supplies. Hope this helps.
PS If you've heard about rondo it's a mix of resin and bondo, not another product.

I get most of my supplies from wal mart, craft stores or auto parts stores. Some of it I find in yard sales and the rest I get online at various places. There's a few stickies that would probably help you out greatly :)

Well I get my card stock from Staples, my fiberglass bondo and sandpaper from Canadian Tire, my brushes from an online supplier (I get 72 or 75 1 1/2" chip brushes for like $20) and i just picked up 6 sheets of eva foam for $12 so I grabed 3 packs from excess cargo, most of the tools i already had from being an automechanic. about the only thing I've had to buy is a mouse sander.

Walmart for most of the stuff, best prices there. Harbor Freight for all the stuff Walmart doesn't carry (boxes of brushes, tools, misc stuff).

I live in Europe, so it's a bit different from you US guys.

- Cardstock is from standard paperware shops.

- I buy my 10mm foam at Decathlon, they're a sort of sports stuff mall. I think it's brander Demios - it has the carbon fiber weave like pattern on the back side that's used on Mass Effect N7 armor.

- Tools are mostly from local resellers like OBI, Praktiker, Baumax etc. I got a dremel, glue gun, heat gun, utility knife, protection gear and such from here.

- Some of the stuff like X-acto knife and blades, and 2mm / 6mm foamies are from Ebay. Foamies are easiest to get from here if you don't have a local shop.