Wiring LEDs in parallel with 5-pin LED on/off switch

Status
Not open for further replies.

jianjiao

Hello, first topic in 405th, please be kind.
BvZwp.png

I'm creating a costume with some lights and am trying to run 10 LEDS and an on/off button with an LED LED - - IC Chips - Kynix Semiconductor from a 9V battery (so 11 LEDs in total). Due to the fact that it needs to be from a 9V for portability, I've opted to run the 10 individual LEDs in parallels of 2 each, with 100 Ω resistors at the front of each set, and then a 270 Ω resistor at the end of the series in front of the LED button. (Not gonna lie, I had to use the ledcalc website to guide me on how to wire them all up. I'm a novice when it comes to this sort of thing!)

I would prefer to have the switch at the opposite end of the circuit as the battery, since in the costume the battery pack will be at the top, the lines of 2 leds will be stacked down the middle, and then the button will be at the bottom. But I also know that I can make the wires as long or as short as needed in order to physically place everything where it needs to go so that's not as important. :)

My confusion/question comes from how to incorporate the on/off LED button into the circuit. I want the light to be off if the circuit isn't powered, but to come on when it is, but I can't have the LED part of the button accidentally complete the circuit. The details on the button say that the LED and the switch are separated, so they can be controlled independently, but I'm not not sure how to physically solder the wires correctly to make it work.

LED switch
metal16mmbuttons.jpg

Does anyone have insight into this 5-prong switch and could guide me on which prongs to attach to which? Thank you!