Recommendations on 3D Printers

DeltaV

I’m looking for a 3D printer from 300 - 500 that is good for building armor, I’m relatively new to this and would like some advice on a first printer. (Filament recommendations are also welcome)

There is a very active thread on printer selection on the 405th site:
What's Your Printer?

Jumping right to armor is really not the best way to go when learning 3d printing. You really want to work up to something this big and specialized. A few settings differences can be the difference between a $10 part and a $40 part.... a part too weak to be used and printing your armor so heavy its exhausting to wear.
Work up to things that big where a 3% goof can mean added costs, joints that lock up and you can't bend your elbow etc. Little easy things first… Things with no supports to start. Move up to props like pistols. And keep moving upward over time.

Helmet probably should be last, not first. Yeah yeah, everyone wants a helmet to drool over. But it's the thing everyone stares at so you want to do it AFTER you've developed a process and techniques and skills.

Personally I always recommend starting at the feet and working up.
You're going to weather and distress the boots more than anything else... and they get looked at with the least critical eye.
Then shins which have to ride on the boots.
Then thighs since you have to avoid joint conflict so you can sit etc.
See how this goes? Up from the boots.
By the time you get to the chest and helmet; the parts at eye level that everyone stares at, looks at first, is right there in your face in every photo - you can make them look stellar.

And if you start at the boots you're looking at parts that are only a day or two per part not 6 days per part. So you can hone your scaling skills.

My regular 'new printed armorer' post: