A Bit Of Inspiration: My Mate Driving Weta's Warthog

Status
Not open for further replies.

Old Trenchy

I'm not sure if I should be posting this here but I've been keeping this under wraps for a few months and now I can finally speak about it. Anyway, I thought it might be of some interest to the prop makers around here to check out the article.

Last year my mate, Alistair a freelance games journalist, was asked by Official Xbox Magazine to fly to New Zealand and interview the blokes at Weta about the Halo-related stuff they built (originally for the now defunct movie), which included a real working Warthog.

He got to check out all sorts of props and costumes and even got to drive the Warthog itself (and he doesn't even have a license. I'm usually giving him a lift to parties!! :p )

The article he wrote is in the latest issue of Official Xbox Magazine (I think for both US and Australia) and so that's why I'm allowed to speak about it now and show you some shots he emailed to me.

The Warthog was driven at a local school oval and the representative from Microsoft that was there drove it into the set of goal posts (shhhhh. Keep that to yourself)

I'm sooooooooooooooooooooooooo bloody jealous!! I think a video of the Warthog in action will be available on Xbox Live next month (I was told US only, which sucks for me). I've yet to check out the article myself but that is certainly on my list the next time I go and get the weekly paper!

_U1_0310_011008.jpg

_U1_0394_011008.jpg

_U1_0513_011008.jpg

_U1_0585_011008.jpg

_U1_8151_011008%20(2).jpg

_U1_8175_011008.jpg

(palmface)
At least now we know WETA did not destroy 'em(I've read somewhere that it is not allowed to tell what microsoft did with them)

JustMe
BTW: I'm jealous too

I think there's a video of this up on the 360 dashboard right now. They show the interior controls in pretty good detail and what they all do. Pretty cool stuff.