A few questions before I start out

Status
Not open for further replies.

Proximal Pyro

Hi!

I am just getting into this costume making thing and before I start out I would like some advice.

For now I'm only planning on making a helmet scince I want to try it out. I am planning on using EVA foam to create the helmet.

My questions are:

How much EVA foam will it take? I don't need an exact number, I just roughly want to know how much to purchase. I am planning on using 61cm x 61cm x 1,2cm sheets of foam. (Link here (Swedish site): http://www.biltema.se/sv/Fritid/Sport/Traning/Traningsmatta-2000031674/ ). Are these any good? Does anyone have experience with these? Does it matter that much what I pick? I have heard there is different type of EVA foam and is it really so much difference between the types?

What would you recommend for a visor? I have not looked so much into this but my guess would be a motorcycle visor is the best.

EDIT: Forgot to add the helmet I'm making... Anyway it's this one: http://www.405th.com/file-archive.php?do=download&downloadid=989

I'm sorry for all the questions (I know there is quite alot) but thanks for your help :)
//Proximal Pyro

Sorry, I am unable to answer the foam question, but you never said which helmet you're making. For MOST helmets, motorcycle visor is probably the worst option if you're going for accuracy, well, this is what i've heard.

But which helmet are you making?

No worries.
I reckon you'd be able to use a motorcycle visor for that, and make it look great. Depending on your budget, or what you have, you may want to consider getting 2 of the same visors, that way you can re create the 'grooves' in the visor by cutting them out of one and overlapping it on the second. However this isn't necessary, but would look better and more accurate. :)