Completely New to Everything

Status
Not open for further replies.

MrPooky

Name: Mr Pooky
Profession: I work at a local pharmacy
Favorite Hobbies: Playing MTG, D&D, League of Legends, and other video games.
Favorite Part About Halo: I was loving the story for a long time, but am now turning away from it (I just didn't like Halo 4's campaign at all)
Other interests: I enjoy playing music through voice, guitar, clarinet, bass clarinet, or saxophone.
Favorite Food: Food.

Hi I'm new to the whole realm of cosplay and was wanting to get into it with a friend of mine. We both have no clue what we're doing but I found pepakura online and thought it looked really fun to try out. The only issue is that I have no clue how to do any of it. The only thing I've accomplished is downloading pepakura designer,but other than that I'm lost. I don't where to begin as a new cosplayer. Any tips or advice would be a huge help and the answers to a few questions. Question 1: What is the simplest armor for a newbie to make? Question 2: are there any video resources you guys could share that goes in depth in the process of making armor, step by step? Question 3: Any of you guys and gals from Oklahoma?

If you could answer any of these or give out anything else that I might need would be great.

Hey, I'm also new to this place, and in the same spot as you but I'm eager to start as well, and btw I'm also from Oklahoma, in the Lawton area

Here's a great guide to start with. I didn't see it when I first joined.

Question1) I think it would probably be foam. Less resources needed compared to fiberglass resin. This is completely personal opinion based on my experience with fiberglass resin. Fiberglass resin requires a lot of space, safety equipment and its messy. My next build will be foam instead of fiberglass resin, thats for sure.