First Armor Build - Pepakura Style

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hey all, Ive been lurking for long enough so I decided while im waiting for my green card to the USA, ill make some armor!

Anyways, I settled on making an ODST suit, and am currently well underway on the Pepakura of the helmet. Ill post some photos ASAP anyways.

Couple of things ive picked up so far is that superglue is great, but expensive, and you w0nt have fingerprints for quite some time!

Also, a good metal ruler and cutting board makes life so much easier its untrue!

Lastly, dont rush or try to overdo it. When you get tired, you mess up, simple as.

One question ive got so far because im new to Pepakura; ive read allot about people using 110lb cardstock. I was wondering what the equivalent is in g/m2. Im guessing its 200? I could only find 160 g/m2 card, but it seems to be working out ok so far. The superglue seems to help its rigidity anyways. Just wondering what people think about this.

Ash

Couple of things ive picked up so far is that superglue is great, but expensive, and you w0nt have fingerprints for quite some time!

Also, a good metal ruler and cutting board makes life so much easier its untrue!

Lastly, dont rush or try to overdo it. When you get tired, you mess up, simple as.

Exactly! Lol :lol All of that is spot on. Sounds like you're learning a bunch, which is awesome! Looking forward to seeing what pieces you decide to start with! Good luck man ;)

Edit: In regards to paper, just try to find some that's got a thickness most similar to a business card. I'm not sure how g/m2 works, but 110lb cardstock is very similar to business cards. Just a tiny bit more flimsy.

Its not quite as rigid as the business cards I have, but its not paper. Hopefully when I resin etc ( im thinking of going that way) it will turn out ok. Im also wondering if its work me superglue-ing some more card on the inside of this to strengthen certain areas?