Foam Armor?

Status
Not open for further replies.

BinaryCode

Jr Member
Is it possible to use foam to make armor, or is it just way too hard and delicate to even try it? Because I'm thinking of making a Mjolnir Mark VI (From halo 2 and 3) helmet using foam.

I'm not very experienced in armor making (I made an assault rifle out of cardboard with the same method as the pepakura's folding way and an SMG by taping together 5 drawn layers). But other than that, I'm as noob as it gets when it comes to this stuff.

So, if it is possible to make armor using foam, can someone tell me how, or even better, give me a link to Foam tutorials? 'Cause I couldn't find any. I did find a lot of molding and pepakura tutorials, but none of them were for using foam.

Thanks for your support.

PS: I'm posting this topic here because I don't really see how it would fit elsewere.

I suppose you could,but are you planning to resin it or strengthen it in any way? Because after a while, the foam will just crumble away from use.

RadioaciveMicrobe said:
I suppose you could,but are you planning to resin it or strengthen it in any way? Because after a while, the foam will just crumble away from use.

I don't think so, It's not like I'm going to go out and run around with it, i'll just wear it rarely. And If it did get damaged, I would probably be able to repair it pretty fast.

But anyways, has anyone done this? Is there anything that I can look at to get started here?

Last edited by a moderator:
it is possible i was thinking about doing it but you need experience with CAD programs..you can either buy a CNC Router or build one...a CNC Router is pretty much a computer that directs a router to specific points. The foam is sturdy but expense and the CNC Routers can be made under 250 bucks. Check out this site:

http://buildyourcnc.com/default.aspx

and these guys inspired me to use the CNC but id rather use the PEP files and use fiberglass....the detail is FREAKIN AMAZING!!!