Foam Armor

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gizmologist

Hello Everyone,

I was recently thinking about making my set of Halo 3 Mickey armor and about how much time i have on my hands. I don't have very much time on my hands and I'm not very good at Pepakura, and then I remembered this video from Kre8 Fx were they make an elite costume

I saw within the video they make the armor for the elite out of interlocking foam floor mats http://www.buy.com/prod/24-sq-ft-fo...q/listingid/50406518/loc/66357/211951900.html. All they used to make the armor was a dremel and a utility knife. Recently i have had a lot of time working with foam on separate projects. I never really thought about using it for my armor, and I was just wondering if is is a good idea. Another question is if you could harden it, or would it melt with the reaction to the resin, and what spray paint would you use to paint it.
I have a picture of what i want my armor to look like.
P1020965-1.jpg

The armor in the picture i drew is a mix of Odst, Marine, and Mickey armor. It has a lot of curves to it and when i think about it foam might be the easiest way for my to go. Please reply if you can help me with my questions.
Thanks,
Gizmologist

Last edited by a moderator:
Hmm... Foam armor. Sounds like it could work! AND LOOKS TOTALLY SICK!!! I happen to have a few matts lying around. To harden it, I have no idea but, I do know the spraypaint you want: Krylon Fusion. It's meant for plastic and it should work fine with foam. Keep in mind, in the video that foam is slightly harder than normal foam. I have those kinds of matts and they are harder than they look. It seems in the video he didn't use anything to harden the foam. Either that or he just left it out but, I doubt that so I think you can skip the hardening process. If this doesn't work the next best thing is Pepakura. Here are the materials:

Krylon Fusion: http://www.sears.com/shc/s/p_10153_...21x00003a&ci_src=14110944&ci_sku=03076085000P[