Introducing myself and the reasons you should read directiong before you start!

Status
Not open for further replies.

qs dragon

Hello 405th!

I have been a long time lurker of this forum, always enjoying looking at your guys' armor but never actually reading up on it. I decided to join after my gf and I started playing Reach together with friends, it took several months but now we function as a team and we all wanted to make our personal spartans. My ultimate goal is to create my in-game spartan - in full air support armor with jet pack (the armor kat wears). Outside of halo I am an avid foam sword fighter (look up belegarth) so costuming is not new to me. I live in Ohio on a small farm where I practice shooting, mountain biking (I guess trail riding is a better word), snowboard during the winter and play games all to much. I am 19 years old and the manager of a screen printing shop, soon to be part owner (scary)

So now that I have introduced myself, I thought it a good idea to share my experiences in attempting to build my helmet.

This was not my first time making paper models, I have had paper mad cats (mechwarrior/battletech) and f-16's on my desk since I was 8, but it WAS my first time making armor to wear. So naturally I hop on the 405th just long enough to find the files for pepakura and I was off, never bothering to read all those super-helpful threads about armor scaling and the such. First thing I did was print it on regular paper. This might seem like a noob mistake but remember, I've made paper models before, I printed on regular paper so I could get my scale perfect without wasting a ton of cardstock (which out here in the middle of nowhere is slightly harder to come by, taking a good 45 minutes to reach a store which sells the stuff)