Looking to get into 3D print armor. Complete newbie to 3d printing, any help?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rahksi

Hey everyone. I'm looking to buy (and learn how to use) a 3d printer, especially for the use of making various cosplay armor (especially Halo). I've seen posts saying they've their armor is made from a 3d printer, but never found any information on what they used and how (and the search bar sucks). So I'm really looking for some information, I'd appreciate it. I'd like to get something around or under $500, and to use ABS plastic. I'd like to get a widely used printer with lots of support, and I guess FDM from research. Also, most likely a pre-assembled printer (unless it is fairly simple to put a kit or purchase different pieces and assemble). I assume since most affordable printers are smaller I'd have to print each piece in smaller pieces and glue them together, what's the best glue for abs plastic...a 2 part expoy (will this melt the plastic?), or super glue? Thank you everyone for any information you can provide, or if this endeavor is even worth it.

On a side note, I have experience in foam and pep, not sure if 3d printed pieces need to be reinforced with anything to be worn. I also never posted my finished ODST build, not that great (first attempt from scratch) but I had a blast:

Bx05GB9.jpg

http://www.405th.com/showthread.php?t=44801

I know it's long. But In there Ive mentioned some useful data.

so ABS and PLA are OK
ABS is a Real eng plastic. it is stable after print with mild heat. It can be machined better afterward then PLA and can be polished with acetone.
PLA as you know is far more forgiving . .needs a less fancy printer... ( no bed heat no chamber ) so you can afford to get a larger bed .

Here is My recommended breakdown .... If you can afford it get a flashforge dreamer .( not creator !)

Its Ready to run as a modern inkjet....... super stable and has a wonderfull feature set